Bio


08-21-2007---111328-IMG_7963---edit1I grew up in Los Angeles, California, went to college in San Diego, studied abroad in Siena, Italy and Costa Rica, lived in China for 7 years, and have now settled in Longmont, Colorado.  Below are some more details about myself:

Education

Attended Crossroads High School in Santa Monica, California – Graduated in 2000.

Graduated from UCSD (University of California, San Diego) in 2005.

  • B.A. in Computer Science
  • Overall GPA 3.925
  • Summa Cum Laude (Top 2%)
  • Awarded Provost’s Honors 4 years in a row
  • Phi Beta Kappa honor society
  • Tau Beta Pi engineering honor society
  • Gold Key Honor Society

Work

2013-2015 – CEO – Strauss Cycling

Founded this company with a Chinese partner to develop bicycle accessories

2014-2015 – TriRig – Freelance Writer

Wrote articles retlating to triathlon, samples can be found by searching for “Andrew Strauss” here

2008-2013 – Founder and CEO – Shanzhuoboshi (闪卓博识)

Created a chinese-language photography training website

Sold photography products from several large international companies

2008-2011 – Product design, development, and manufacturing – Creative Products Inc.

Worked on designing, sourcing, and producing products in China based on international customer requirements. This involved negotiating with multiple manufacturers, supervising all aspects of product design and development, creating testing standards, implementing QC systems and checks, visiting manufacturers and inspecting facilities, and arranging international shipment / customs.

2005-2008 – CTO – Lion International

Co-Founded Lion International to import and distribute solar control window film from a top U.S. based manufacturer

Lion International was their exclusive distributor in China

Grew company into a major player in the Chinese film market, with over 5 million US in annual sales, and a staff of over 50

2004-2005 – Treasurer – San Diego Aviation Safety Counselor Association

Elected by the general body to serve on the board of directors for 2 years

2001-2005 – Teaching Assistant – UCSD Dept. of Computer Science

Taught more than 15 computer science courses, some with over 300 students

2000-2001 – CTO – Actionfliks Media Corporation

1997-1999 – System Administrator – W.M. Keck Math Science Institute

In charge of administering a 500-user 120 terminal computer network

1993-2000 – Computer Consultant – Strauss Enterprises Computer Consulting

IMG_0124

Performed computer work and network administration for individuals and businesses throughout Los Angeles, including television production companies, record labels, and stock brokers at Smith Barney, CIBC Oppenheimer, and Wells Fargo.  Had a staff of around 7 technicians in addition to myself.

Languages

English – Fluent

Chinese (Mandarin) – Fluent

Knowledge of about 4000 Chinese characters (汉字), decent reading ability.

Lived in Shijiazhuang, China from 2005-2012.

Italian – Fluent, Lived in Siena, Italy during 2004.

Spanish – Conversational understanding

Personal Accomplishments

  • Instrument Rated Private Pilot – 772 hours of flight time
  • Certified Scuba Diver
  • Certified Sky Diver with ~500 jumps
  • Completed multiple triathlons, including the 2014 Ironman Boulder, which I finished in 16 hours 36 min

Interests and Hobbies

  • TriatlonIMG_1432-edit
  • Flying Airplanes
  • Photography
  • Italian Cooking / Wine
  • Competitive Skiing / Snowboarding
  • Opera
  • Computers and Technology